Tuesday , 23 May 2017


The Nigerian Armed Forces at the weekend, elevated deserving personnel in its employ as the Army takes stock of outstanding participation of its members in the present fight against Boko Haram in the country.

No less than 17 Brigadier-Generals were elevated to the rank of Major-General by the army.  Also elevated were 17 colonels to the rank of Brigadier-General while 95 Lieutenant-Colonels were promoted to the rank of Colonel.

Among the newly-promoted major-generals are: J.A. Orokpo and I. Attahiru, who were one-time directors, Army Public Relations.

Also promoted are J.S. Malu, Commander, Army Headquarter Garison, R.C. Duru, A.O. Shodunke, P.J.O. Bogie, A.M. Sabo, I.R. Nicholas, E.G.Ode, E.B. Oyefeso, O. Ejemai, E.O. Udoh, C.T. Mohammed Olukoju, I.O. Rabiu and A.M. Dikko.

Promoted also are two officers who are now deceased.  They are J.T. Abubakar and S.E.U. Ekanem; who  were elevated post-humously.

The newly promoted Brigadier-Generals include M.M. Yerima, who was former director, Defence Information, U.M. Miri, C.V. Ezeh, K.O. Aligbe, J.A. Ataguba, A.B. Ibrahim, B.A. Mohammed, J.G. Mohammed, E.C. Ekwesi, E.G. Onumajuru, C.A. Bossman, among others.

The newly-promoted colonels include S.S. Tilawan, one-time Public Relations Officer, Guards Brigade, O. Idoniboye-Obu, A. Rabiu, O.J. Akande, P.A. Izang, S.M. Mba, R.E. Hedima and O.A. Ochagwuba.

The Nigerian Airforce also released its own promotion which affected 14 new Air Vice – Marshals (AVMs), 26 Commodores, 22 Group Captains and 91 Wing Commanders.

Director of Information and Public Relations, Commodore Dele Alonge, gave the names of the newly promoted AVMs as Onyemaechi Osahor, Shehu Adamu, Mohammed Usman, Muhammad Abdul-Wahab, Isiaka Amao, John Baba, Okechukwu Ntukogu, Humphrey Okpala, Yekeen Ishola, Christian Dii, Sambo Usman, Auwal Muhammad, Charles Otegbade and Isyaka Bukar.

Those promoted to Air Commodore include Chiebonam Ozougwu, Emmanuel Udenyi, Aliyu Bello, Iboro Etukudo, Abidemi Marquis, Abubakar Liman, Pius Oahimire, Kabiru Aliyu, Ubrufih Uzezi, Nkem Aguiyi, Sule Lawal, and Paul Masiyer.

Other promotions in the Air-Force are Group captains Isa Muhammad, Kurotimi Obidake, Dalhatu Ladan, Adeniyi Amesinlola, Olagoke Ogunmola, Raheem Tijani, Obainana Imafidor, Framah Batnad, John Dibal, Mohammed Sini, Barisi Keenam, Sunday Ogba, Habib Adamu and Emma Enam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


4 × 5 =

error: !!